In recognition of their determination and sheer inspiration, five of Australia’s most outstanding athletes with a disability, including Paralympic and Invictus Games medallists, have been named as finalists in The Primary Club of Australia’s 2018/19 Sir Roden Cutler Award.

Among the finalists are Madison de Rozario, three-time gold medallist in wheelchair track and field, and Joany Badenhorst, the first and only female Paralympian to represent Australia in Boardercross.

Also included as finalists are Cristine Suffolk, middle and long distance runner, Damien Thomlinson, Afghanistan war veteran and snowboard Paralympian, and Curtis McGrath, an eight-time World Championship gold medallist in para-canoeing.

The winner was announced at the Baggy Green Awards Dinner at NSW Parliament House on 15th November – Damien Thomlinson will receive a $20,000 grant for sporting and recreational equipment to be given to an organisation he chooses which reflects the Club’s charter. In addition, each finalist will receive a grant of $2,000 for a charity of his/her choice that supports people with disabilities.