The Sir Roden Cutler Award

To acknowledge outstanding sporting achievement by an athlete with a disability, The Primary Club of Australia created the Sir Roden Cutler Award.

Sir Roden Cutler VC, AK, KCMG, KCVO, CBE served as Twelfth Man and Patron of the Primary Club of Australia from our inception in 1974 until his passing in 2002.

Sir Roden agreed enthusiastically back in 1998 to lend his name to this special award, which the Primary Club and its members choose to present to an athlete or administrator who has performed an extraordinary service to his/her sport on behalf of people with disabilities. As part of the award, the awardee now receives a grant of $20,000 for recreational facilities for the sport of his/her choosing.

Past winners of the Sir Roden Cutler Award include:

  • James Pittar (Swimming) 1999
  • Zoltan Peglar (Yachting) 2000
  • Michael Milton (Skiing) 2001
  • Julie Higgins (Equestrian) 2002
  • Ben Felten (Rowing) 2003
  • Jan Pike (Equestrian) 2004
  • Kurt Fearnley (Wheelchair Marathon) 2006
  • Brad Dubberley (Wheelchair Rugby) 2009
  • Ame Barnbrook (Sailing) 2011
  • Jess Gallagher (Skiing) 2013
  • Liesl Tesch (Sailing and Basketball) 2014