Sir Roden Cutler Award


The Sir Roden Cutler Award - named after the cricket-based charity’s first Twelfth Man and Patron Sir Roden Cutler - has acknowledged the achievements of disabled athletes for almost two decades.

First awarded in 1999, The Sir Roden Cutler Award recognises athletes with a disability who display enormous determination and dedication in their sporting pursuits, inspire the nation, and are the embodiment of the Australian spirit. 

With an alumni including  Liesl Tesch, Katie Kelly, Kurt Fearnley and Jess Gallagher,  the Award continues to recognise those who are dedicated to their sporting pursuits. 


Past Winners

  • James Pittar (Swimming) 1999
  • Zoltan Peglar (Yachting) 2000
  • Michael Milton (Skiing) 2001
  • Julie Higgins (Equestrian) 2002
  • Ben Felten (Rowing) 2003
  • Jan Pike (Equestrian) 2004
  • Kurt Fearnley (Wheelchair Marathon) 2006


  • Brad Dubberley (Wheelchair Rugby) 2009
  • Ame Barnbrook (Sailing) 2011
  • Jess Gallagher (Skiing) 2013
  • Liesl Tesch (Sailing and Basketball) 2014
  • Katie Kelly (Triathlete) 2017
  • Damien Thomlinson (Para-snowboarder) 2018